Skip to content

benzalkonium chloride / chlorhexidine digluconate

As the list published 23 Sept 2026 has it, binding since 29 Dec 2022. Each entry binds six months after its own publication date (Article 107c(7) of Directive 2001/83/EC).

What the list says

EU reference date
19 Nov 1998
PSUR frequency
7 years
Data lock point
1 Nov 2028
Submission date
30 Jan 2029
Next data lock point
Not stated
Next submission date
Not stated
Products covered
Nationally authorised (NAP)

Are PSURs required for products referred to in Articles 10(1), 10a and 16a of Directive 2001/83/EC?

No — the list does not require PSURs for these products.

The list asks this as one question for Articles 10(1), 10a and 16a together, and does not answer it for Article 14 at all. A PSUR may in any case be required at the request of a competent authority or as a condition of the marketing authorisation.

Notes in the list

PSUR frequency and DLP were updated on 29/06/2022 PRAC Rapporteur name was amended on 06/03/2019 DLP was updated on 21/07/2017 Lead MS and PRAC Rapporteur name was added on 03/06/2016

Track dates like these for your own products: a sample workspace, read-only, no account needed.

Try the demo

The next three reports

  • Data lock point 1 Nov 2028Submission by 30 Jan 2029
  • Data lock point 1 Nov 2035Submission by 30 Jan 2036
  • Data lock point 1 Nov 2042Submission by 30 Jan 2043

Counted from the data lock point the list gives, on the cycle it states: the submission date is 90 days after the data lock point — 70 days for a cycle of twelve months or less, 90 days for a longer one, as GVP Module VII sets out.

In earlier versions of the list

  • EMA/630645/2012 Rev.164 · published 23 Sept 2026

    benzalkonium chloride / chlorhexidine digluconate — every 7 years, data lock point 1 Nov 2028

  • EMA/630645/2012 Rev.156 · published 4 Feb 2026

    benzalkonium chloride / chlorhexidine digluconate — every 7 years, data lock point 1 Nov 2028

Source: European Medicines Agency, list of EU reference dates and frequency of submission of periodic safety update reports, EMA/630645/2012 Rev.164, published 23 Sept 2026. Open the published file

Kreastel is a planning and oversight aid for pharmacovigilance obligations. It tracks dates like these for a marketing authorisation holder's own products.

Report a discrepancy — if this page and the published file disagree, the file is right and we want to know.

Kreastel